Weekend Favorites.

Hey guys, welcome back to the blog, it’s Friday and it’s time for another Weekend Favourites post. For those of you that are new, this is the post where I share my top favourite from the week, from Music, Movies, TV series, Instagram followers, Fashion, Lifetsyle etc. Today, however I’m going to be sharing my favourite Albums and comedy Tv Series (animation and sitcom) to get you through the weekend. So, let’s go!!!!!

ALBUMS

Westlife – Spectrum (After years, I think probably 20 years now, they’re finally back with an album. I was beyond excited when they released their single “Hello My Love” early this year and promised to release an album later this year. They were an absolute favourite growing up and seeing them back, creating new and beautiful music is just very nice and I’m so very happy about it. When I say there is legit no bad song on this album, I absolutely mean it. It so very beautifully done and arranged. The songs are so nice and calming to listen to; their sounds are still pure and powerful. I’ve been listening to the album on repeat for days now and I can’t stop. It’s hard to pick a favourite song but I really like Repair, One Last Time and Dynamite.)

Celine Dion – Courage ( So, I was scrolling through my regular download sites and I saw the Celine Dion had 4 new songs out, a surprise drop for her fans in anticipation for the new album. I quickly downloaded them. Celine Dion has always been a massive favourite of mine, her vocal range is beyond!!!! And tbh, I think she’s one of the very few artistes that do not have a bad song, like a single one. This album didn’t disappoint either, I remember describing it on twitter as “if inspirational and life quotes was a song or an album, it will be this”. Every song had a deep, powerful and relatable message, I remember the first day I listened to “The Hard way” I actually cried, it really hit me so freaking hard because that’s how I’ve been living my life for a while now. It’s just a very good and beautiful work of art though.

Ycee – Ycee vs Zaheer ( Im not the greatest fan of Music and tbh, nothing really interests me about the gbas gbos afropunk sound that most of these artistes try to pass on us, but every once in a while, there are those ones that I actually really like because of how intelligent and smart their sounds are. It’s more than the commercial sound that others try too hard to pass on as music but it’s actually a work of art, like this album. Ycee is one of the very few Nigerian rappers I actually listen to, and tbh I started listening to his songs this year but I’ve been super impressed and when I saw he had an album, I quickly got it. You can hear the influences from both new and old school rappers, his play on words and pop culture, his ability to switch and go from soft to hard seamlessly. In an interview, he said it took over 2 years to produce this album and I was like, that is clearly evident. It’s a well-produced album and the features are very smart and well arranged. I’m very impressed and happy with it. Good work Ycee.

James Arthur – You (James Arthur is undoubtedly one of the best male vocalists’ rn!!! His sound is pure power and rage!!! Like you can legit feel everything and I mean everything in the message he is trying to sing and pass across. His previous album (Back from the edge) completely sold me on his talent, ever since then, I’ve always listened to every work he has released and I’ve never been disappointed. His voice sours so high on this album, taking us on a rough and dangerous journey that we are all well ready to go on, he makes pain feel normal because it really is, he makes love feel timeless because it should be, hope for life when feeling depressed and sad. His work is beyond amazing and powerful. I really enjoy listening to this album, you will too.

Lewis Capaldi – Divinely Uninspired to a Hellish Extent (Tbh, the name is quite ironic considering how inspiring the album is. I first heard his song on Sunday and boy oh boy, I’ve been crazily hooked!!!!! When I say his songs are just are beyond and I mean Beyond beautiful, I mean it!!!! His voice!!!! I actually had to Google him just to see what he actually looked like, he is 23!!!! 23!!!!! It made me realise, all things being equal, the new boys are actually doing waaaaaayyyyy more than the new girls, I mean, tbh, there are new sounds coming out, new vibes, new looks, styles etc., There is more diversity in the mainstream media, which I am a fan off, but the main thing that should never change is the question “can you actually sing?!” and tbh, many of the new faves, even with auto tune fail this question. That being said, he is an amazing, his voice and range is amazing and his art is even more amazing and I’m sure you will appreciate it too.

TV SERIES

Bob Heart Abishola (when the trailer of this CBS series came out early this year, I was so freaking excited!!!! Because I never knew I really wanted a series with a Nigerian lead before till I saw trailer and it just made me so freaking happy and really appreciate the doors this would be opening for more Nigerian series and shows. The series is very funny and actually relatable. I think on of my major fears when the trailer came out was that they might not get the accent and the intonations and quirks of the regular Nigerian down and that might lowkey annoy me, but, they really did, everything of the regular (okay maybe a bit bougie) Yoruba Nigerian family was gotten down. The Nigerian Characters are extremely funny and their scenes always make me happy, especially when they interact with their white counterparts. It’s on his 8th episode, so you can actually download and binge watch over the weekend and have a good laugh.

Bless the Harts (I’m legit smiling rn thinking about this series, this is one of the funniest cartoons I’ve ever watched in my life!!! I think it’s the accent!!! It’s so crazy and funny!!!! Oh lord!!! The way the characters talk!!! I just can’t actually describe this without laughing like a mad person because I’m just smiling like a silly person and I’m in public. But, anyways, you need to watch this series, if you don’t laugh, then you’re dead inside. Lol

The Neighbourhood (This is in its second season but it still has the funny on lock. I actually binged watched the whole of season 1 and parts of the season 2 already out and I really enjoyed it. The characters are so hilarious and the storyline is quite interesting. We’ve seen the connection and relationship with each other grow with each episode. Cedric the entertainer has always been one of my favourite comedians and Tchina Arnold from Everybody Hates Chris is one of the funniest actors in American sitcom. I really enjoy the family dynamic and the flow of characters between the casts and both races. It’s interesting, it’s funny. )

Bobs Burgers (I’ve always seen clips and pieces of this series on twitter and I’ve always wanted to download and watch but never really had the final push till this new season rolled out. I am impressed. At first, when I heard Bobs voice I was like where I have I heard this voice before, I was so confused that I had to pause the series and Google it, turns out, he is the one that did the voice over for Archer, as in Sterling Archer. I think that just made me like the series even more. The characters are all very funny, the mom is hilarious the kids are so weird and disastrous, their conversations and interactions are just as funny as it is sweet. I really look forward to new episodes of the series.

Big Hero 6 (I got this from a friend and I was really happy about it. It’s a very interesting series but tbh, it’s a bit repetitive. It does have a good and engaging storyline but I sometimes feel like they could switch it up a bit, change some scenarios and give us like a twist or two. However, all in all, it’s a very interesting series; I enjoy watching it while I’m eating.

Thank you so very much for reading this very long post, I wanted to make it as expressive as possible. I appreciate your time and I hope you listen, watch and enjoy this music and series on my favourite list. Have a nice weekend.

3 thoughts on “Weekend Favorites.

  1. Rob Hearts Abishola is like, the greatest thing to Grace all my electronic gadgets with screens.

    Why isn’t ColdPlay’s Album on this List?

    Like

Leave a comment