Friday Favorites: Music and TV edition.

Hey guys, welcome back to my blog.

It’s the weekend and I felt like bringing back this trend, sharing with you guys, my favorite things from the week. This ranges from music (singles and albums), movies, grooming products, Instagram Influencers, food, places and locations, accessories and fashion, everything and anything I’ve really been into during the week.

Today I’m going to be sharing with you all my favorite music and TV shows from this week and giving you my little opinions about them and why you should listen and watch. So, let’s get into it.

Music.

1. Westlife – Better man (I’ve always enjoyed westlife’s songs, I don’t think they’ve ever released a bad song, it’s always had this chorusy sing along type of feel that just makes you feel relaxed and comfortable listening to it. And their lyrics and message frankly treads the thin line between cheesy and romantic, which I think is perfect.

This particular song, I think is the second single off their new album which is coming out later this year. The song is so damn good!!!!! Their voices have matured so much that as a man, I feel like they’re singing what I’d like to sing to someone else. Everything about the song, from the harmonies to the tempo and beat was amazing and the lyrics tho!!!! Phew!!!! Ed Sheeran is a songwriting beast. Great tune)

2. Waje – Why (so, I think sometime last week there was a viral video of waje complaining about people not actually listening to her songs anymore after they’ve been saying they needed an album from her. And it was quite painful to watch. I listened to her album way before the video came out and it was and is amazing!!!!

I feel like she’s the one true female vocalist that Nigeria has and her sound on this album was impeccable. It was surprising that it didn’t do well but tbh it wasn’t to surprising and this is not the fault of the album or waje but because, in my opinion, I feel like Nigerians aren’t necessarily ready or interested in this kinda of sound or music, especially from Nigerians. We fuck with Sam Smith and Adele and the rest international soulful vocal singers but when it comes to our own home bred ones, it’s like “eh, who cares” and that’s just sad. This song is one of my favorite from her album, the message and feel of the song is just very powerful and surreal and it features another amazing singer, Adekunle Gold.)

3. Ester Dean – Crazy Youngsters

( oh my days!!!!!! This is my favorite song ever!!!!!! I’ve been listening to this song almost every second of the day!!!!! This sing is beyond amazing!!!! If you dont know Ester Dean, she was in pitch perfect, she also had this jam “drop it low ft christ brown” back in the day and she writes songs for all your favorites and I mean all!!!!! Nicki Minaj, beyonce, Rihanna, fifth harmony etc.

Her sound is so raspy and strong!!!!!!! I just love her so much.)

4. Zayn Malik – There You are ( Zayn is one of my favourite artists this year. His vocals!!!!!!!! Beyond this world and powerful!!!!!!

It honestly draws you in, it’s very captivating and mysterious. I especially love this song because of the message/lyrics and catchy chorus. When you listen to it, you’ll understand and probably feel what I feel whenever I listen to this song. It’s just so beautiful and real. )

5. Westside cast – Champagne High (I first watched this show/series on Netflix and I was hooked immediately.

The stories are so powerful and real and to see how much creatives and/or musicians actually struggle in creating something special and their need to share it with the world and how much their works actually mean to them and how much if themselves they actually give into making this very special for us, it just made me feel very confident and secure, because I could relate to that, that intense feeling, your passion and drive, your need to create something real and how much of yourself you actually put into the work and process and how sometimes you just feel like giving up when you don’t see the immediate gratitude or appreciation of something you hold dear to your being and existence. It’s an amazing series filled with equally amazing songs)

TV series.

1. On my block ( This series is funny, dramatic, amazing, scary, bold, inspiring rolled into one big success. I love the story, the relationship between the characters, even the ones you didn’t expect would click and bond, have this funny and beautiful connection *abuelita and jamal* Its in its second season and it’s a Netflix series, so u know it’s good for one and two, it gets released at once so u can easily binge watch the whole thing without feeling the need to wait for a whole week for another episode.)

2. Schitts Creek : (one of my favorite comedy series rn. I just can’t explain how good this show is, tbh, I’m cracking my head rn, thinking of the best way to actually describe this show and why it’s so funny but I can’t, there’s no just one best way to do it. It’s just that good. Amazing cast and characters)

3. The Boondocks (I saw a clip of this series on Twitter and I just had to go back and download this series. I enjoy watching it when I’m eating, it’s so funny and real. Huey is who I inspire to be like. )

4. Queer Eye : ( one word *Inspiring * )

5. Turn up Charlie. : ( when I first saw the trailer of this show I was like “this is going to be interesting, funny and very African” I love how Idris Elba implements his African roots into his shows. Its like Britain meets Africa. I think this is the second comedy show that he’s doing with this “African influence genre”. This show is especially funny because of the bond between him and the other characters and bow he relates with his black family and friends and his white friends and also how he tries to navigate the world and tries to archieve his dream of being a DJ while in his 40s and babysitting his friends child.

Thank you for reading. ❤

Leave a comment